Photo Update

Fall is closing in on us and I couldn’t be happier. I love summer, who doesn’t, but I’m not afraid to shout it out that fall is my favorite season. My husband thinks I’m nuts because I love a season that ushers in the endless winter, but that’s not true! I love autumn in and of itself. I love the colors, the smells, the activities, the food, I love it all. But before we get there, I figured I’d give an update of other summer photos I have not yet gotten around to.

Full Sunflower

Our first opened sunflower

Cilantro Seeds 1 
Drying and harvesting my own cilantro seeds (not sure if the seeds will be viable, but we’ll see)

Jamming
Jamming in the kitchen- learned how hot it can get making jam in the middle of summer!

Homemade salsa
Homemade salsa with our own cilantro from a recipe by my aunt- really yummy and really hot!

Harvest
Basket full of swiss chard, cucumbers, and tomatoes (ripe and unripe)

Late Blight
And even though it came really late (I know, I know) we still got the Late Blight. Our one surviving crimson sprinter that we started from seed held up the best, resisting it the longest, but the five we picked up at a local greenhouse didn’t do too well and were most likely where it came from. Still edible and yummy though if you cut around it.

Cute
And a little something for the family and friends, my husband and I after an afternoon hike. 🙂

Fall is quickly on its way as all the mornings start out in the 40s, the sun sets earlier, you need to wear something long-sleeved after 6pm, and the wild grapes are ripening. We’ll be pulling what we have left of the tomatoes and zucchini out this weekend. The peppers, cukes, little swiss chard, and tiny corn can stay where they are for now until the frost comes. I’m actually looking forward to our first frost now, as the carrots need to be sweetened. The turnips continue to be yummy and I’ll post our fun “frugal” recipe next time that we experimented with and loved. A happy Friday and weekend to all!

3 thoughts on “Photo Update

  1. hi desi,your mom told me about your web site.
    it’s awesome! thanks for shareing.
    i am one of your mom’s cuctomers at the vfw

Leave a Reply

