Gardens Will Grow When You Are Away

Well, we’re back from our vacation. We had a lovely time and can’t wait until our next vacation in a year! In the mean time, we will continue to enjoy every sunny evening we get, and make the most of each weekend.

So I thought I’d do a quick photo post on what’s happening in our garden. Of course, as soon as I leave, everything starts to pop up! Maybe I should stay away more often, ha!

Cilantro

Our cilantro on the porch- nothing better than the fresh stuff! YUM!

Morning Glories

Our wild morning glories I’m trying to teach to climb the stairs.

Chives and Horseradish

Chives and horseradish

Sunflowers

Our sunflower bed (there’s only 6 left I think eeep!) that’s being shared by some of our morning glories

Turnips

Turnips doing well, here’s hoping they continue to grow!

Carrots

The start of our delicate carrots. They are so tiny, I fear covering them with some light hay. Their cover may have to wait.

Rhubarb

And the rhubarb. It’s growing alright, but it’s fighting a leaf spot disease. I read on one site that stressed plants are heavily susceptible to them, which I believe seeing the plant barely survived it’s transplant! I don’t dare to cut off all the leaves right now, I really want to encourage it to grow. But come fall, when it frosts, I’ll be sure to trim everything down to the ground and destroy the clippings. That’s all I have read I can do. Anyone else have any information they can share with me??? Should I risk killing the plant by cutting everything off now, or should I wait, in hopes it will continue to grow and risk possible death anyways???  Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

