What A Difference A Day Makes

I thought we were done experiencing the hard frosts this year. Boy was I wrong. Today marks June 1st and we got another hard frost this morning. All but one of the 12 tomato plants are dead, both of our strong and huge zucchini plants are gone, as are all the sprouts that were going to be corn. Everything was just starting to look like it was going to make it. Then the frost happened.

All that hard work of getting things to start sprouting inside in February. The patience and excitement. But like I said from the very beginning, with this being our first time with a garden, it’s all a learning experience. We’re still hoping the seeds out there sprout on the carrots, turnip, cucumbers, and Swiss chard. We started a few more zucchini seeds tonight, in hopes they will sprout up and we can put them back out there again in a few weeks. As for the tomatoes, we still want them, so although they will not be exactly what we want, we’ll go to a local greenhouse and pick up a couple plants to put in there once we get back from vacation. As for the corn plot, we’re not quite sure what we are going to do with it. Maybe find some seed potatoes or whatever random plants we come across. Why not?

I wont lie, I was very upset to find everything dead, I even cursed the heavens a little bit and then apologized. Such is life. We’re very lucky not to have to depend on that would have been food, and atleast we learned a few good lessons about the weather and never truly being able to predict what is going to happen.  With everything indicating the average last frost date in the area being from May 1st to the 31st, of course we get another frost on June 1st. My husband says it’s “that damned Giroux luck” that I inherited when I took his name two years ago. I suppose I’ll take that bad luck so long as I get to keep him and his name around. 🙂 Speaking of which, our second anniversary will be June 9th, so we’ll be taking that week off. We’ll be traveling to Maine to visit family and friends, and to take a little time to ourselves in Kennebunkport for two nights. So all will be quiet here for a week after Friday.

The good news is that the chives are thriving, our free rhubarb is still hanging in there, as is the horseradish, and our herbs we planted are still hanging in there. Not all is lost. To all those who have or who may lose plants to the cruel and unpredictable weather, my sympathy is with you.

2 thoughts on “What A Difference A Day Makes

  1. I am so sorry to hear about all that loss. I would be heart-broken if that happened to me… but true, true, it is not as bad as if this happened to food you depended upon to keep you alive. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

