Remembering Summer in December

Even with the joy that the holiday season brings, I was still in need of a happy reminder of summer on Monday. So I went to the freezer, and decided to dip into my reserve of this past summer’s strawberries. I pulled out two of my 2-cup bags and let them thaw overnight. Then last night, after supper was made, I made a big beautiful batch of strawberry crisp. Oh my goodness- let me tell you- if that wasn’t the perfect pick-me-up, I don’t know what would be! It was summer- in my mouth! *sigh* Perfect. And I still have a few bags left in the freezer for batches later on, or maybe a pie, or for smoothies/daiquiris in February.  🙂 

crisp1

Want the recipe? Click for more below and ENJOY!

Strawberry Crisp

4 cups fresh or frozen strawberries
1/2 cup sugar

Mix the strawberries and sugar in a small bowl. Set aside.

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup flour
1 cup light brown sugar
1 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup butter (softened at room temp- you can throw it in your microwave for 15 seconds or so if straight from the fridge)

Mix all the dry ingredients together then cut in the butter until you get a crumb mixture. Grease the bottom and sides of a baking dish of your choice (a 9×9 metal pan, 7×11 glass dish, 2 quart casserole dish, whatever you have really) with a little cold butter, then put half of the crumb mix on the bottom. Layer the strawberries on top of that. Then put the other half of the crumb mixture on the top- sandwiching the strawberries in the middle. Bake in the over at 350 degrees for 45 minutes and ta-da! Done!

Make sure you let it cool though- hot sticky sugary strawberry syrup will burn! I’m a huge fan of the crumble mixing all together with the berries, making at perfect 50/50 ratio, but if you like more berries, add more, or use less crumble. Have a favorite crisp recipe already? Try that crust instead! It’s SUPER easy, VERY forgiving and adjustable, and WICKED yummy.  🙂  The perfect pick-me-up for winter blues.

crisp2

6 thoughts on “Remembering Summer in December

  1. Looks and sounds delicious – I think I may use some of next year’s strawberry glut to have a go at this (instead of making litres of ice cream, yummy as that is too).

  2. Ahhh….looks delicious! Summer in my mouth – what a wonderful description! I’ve got a few saskatoons left from the summer in my freezer and I may just have to do something similar with those – thanks for the inspiration!

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, btw, glad to have found you via Alexah as well. Peace and stillness to you and your loved ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

