Local Blueberries

Just a short photo post about some wonderfully tasty and beautiful blueberries I bought a few days ago. A little old man came into work on Tuesday with a small cooler. He greeted us a good afternoon and said he was there on business and would like to know if we were interested. Before we could say anything, he opened the cooler and removed a ziplock of huge, beautiful blueberries. We of course all fumbled over what we were going to say and replaced it with a jumble of pleased and hungry noises. He then went on to tell us about his berries. “I guess you could call them organic… because I don’t do anything to them. They are there on my land, I prune them back in the fall, them pick them in the summer, that’s it. And always fresh, never frozen. Better looking, and tasting I can imagine, than those nasty, wrinkled, tiny blue things in the supermarket. And I always back my product- if you don’t like them, I’ll give you your money back. So, what do you say? I’m selling pints for $2.75 each.” Wow! You can’t get a pint in the grocery store, let alone organic, for that amount! I bought two, some to enjoy and others for a couple batches of blueberry muffins. They of course were wonderfully juicy and delicious and made amazing muffins! He ever came back yesterday to check up on us to see if we had any qualms! The guy doesn’t have any “u-pick” operation set up, doesn’t bring them to farmers markets, but has about 100 bushes! He just thinks all that is too much work. So he enjoys them, as does his family, and when he feels up to it, he picks them then goes around the neighborhood selling them door to door! What an old fashion treat that was!

So here you are, beautiful, big, juicy, and delicious photos. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a real homemade blueberry muffin, let alone one that oozes a sweet purple blueberry juice all over you when you bite into a warm one! I’ll be bringing a batch home to Maine this weekend to share with my family, I hope they enjoy, I know my husband and I did!

2 thoughts on “Local Blueberries

  1. I LOVE big-blue muffins. 🙂 They are so delicious!

    Oh, I wanted to share some wicked cool info with you. We don’t have curbside anything in Norridgewock, so we have to bring all our recyclables and trash to the dump. Well, not only does this work out due to all the home renovations we’ve been making, but the recycling program at Waste Management is mind blowing! They just designed their setup into a “stream” setup, which means all glass, plastic (1 through 7!) and paper, and cans can be combined in one load! I have to say, it makes life a lot easier. But…plastics 1-7!!! I love it!

  2. What an amazing recycling program you have!!! I’m super jealous! We too don’t have anything curbside, so we bring it to the dump as well, but we really don’t have any recycling program there- well, they take 5-cent returnables, tin cans, and glass, but that’s about it. And for us, plastics and paper make up about 80% of our recyclables. So for the longest time we were bringing all that home with us and leaving it at my mom’s in Rumford. She didn’t like that too much, and we didn’t either because it was getting ridiculous. But luckily this past spring I found a woman advertising in the paper that she will pick up all recycling anywhere for $6 a load. She lives in the next town over that has a great program, but we can’t use it because we don’t live in the town. So it really works out great! Once a month she stops by, we fill her truck with everything, give her $6, and all of our recycling is taken care of. 🙂 But man, they don’t do anything as amazing as yours! I’ve never heard of anyone doing that much plastic!!

Leave a Reply

