Green Success

The potted spinach has a one day head start on the other two, but in one week, all three edibles are pushing through the soil! After another week or so, the next step will be to thin them out a little.

Spinach

Reading the first two comments on the previous entry, it amazed me at how much variation and different opinions exist on something as simple as growing food in a pot. What grows, how large of a pot, location of the grower, fertilizer and soil type were all things I picked up from comments from Jackie Blue and habitsofamouse.

Expanding on my procedure, for the spinach and chard, I did use gallon (or maybe larger?) pots as seen above. For the chives, I used a smaller pot. As for soil, I used the Miracle Grow brand because it was the first small bag I saw, the bags were pretty cheap, and I figured that because the plants would be contained, there would be less options of an open system of nutrition. So as for fertilizer, I assume that there is already some form of nutrition in the soil I purchased.

If I were to be planting outside though, in the form of a more traditional garden, I would choose not to purchase bagged soil, but rather work on incorporating a more natural source of nutrition into the beds.  The difference in this decisions is a matter of scale, cost, convenience, and choice. At a small scale, premixed packaged soil seems a lot less expensive and more convenient than finding and developing your own. However, once outside, the beds get larger, cost for purchasing soil goes up in comparison to mixing your own, and being able to mix large amounts of high nutrient mediums into the soil makes it just as high performing, if not more so, than the ready to go stuff. Besides, in time I’d like to do some composting as a way to reduce the amount of trash we produce, and this would no doubt be a wonderfully rich (and free!) additive to the soil.

I’m interested in this tea bag comment from habitsofamouse. You just set the whole used teabag on top of your soil or do you open it? Does it matter what kind of tea? I’ve heard a tip from DIY that says if you boil eggs, let the water cool and then water your plants with it which makes sense- extracting calcium from the shells. But I suppose it wouldn’t hurt because teabags and coffee grinds tend to be popular compost ingredients. Very interesting.

And from Jackie Blue, it’s interesting to see how much your family and friends have done with porch gardening, especially because you seem to be much deeper into city limits than me! I will most definitely check out that book you suggested because as summer approaches, berries are quickly becoming a thought of mine. 🙂

Thank you both for your comments, and I look forward to MANY more!!!

 

Leave a Reply

