A Holiday Break

One more day of work for my husband and I today, then after 4:30 we’ll head out and start our 3.5 hour journey up to Maine. Hooray! So I thought I’d put up one more quick post before all goes quiet for a few days. I would like to share what I worked on this past Saturday to finish up some Christmas gifts.

gifts-2008

In the back I have a jar of my homemade granola that I’ve shared here before, being given to my stepmother who made a comment this past fall that she would love some of that for Christmas. So, she’ll get what she asked for. :) She’s also the one receiving the garden tote. No doubt this year, she was my favorite person to get gifts for. All are homemade and I think she has the most heartfelt gifts this year and will enjoy her gifts the most. I look an old spaghetti sauce jar, cleaned it well, then used some card stock and some stamps I have to add a personal touch.

In the front I have two sets of tins, with the larger ones being filled with puppy chow, a yummy snack made with Chex cereal, coated with peanut butter and chocolate, and dusted in powdered sugar. Super easy to make, really yummy, and no doubt a holiday favorite that everyone loves to share. Then the smaller tins are filled with some homemade peanut butter dog treats that I found over at a place called Sugarlaws. They were very easy to make, look great, and I’m sure will be loved by all of the dogs that receive them. There were many more made, but the others are packed up and on their way to Maine and my husband’s work partner. Both tin sets are heading to work with me today to be given to my coworker and her family, and my employer and his family. Both love their dogs like family, and I thought they would love the idea of treats for you and them. :) Again, an inexpensive gift for those on a budget (tins were a couple bucks over at Michaels Craft Store, or you can use some you have accumulated over the years, then just the ingredients to make the gifts) but they no doubt show a lot of work and care went into putting them together.

I think most people would appreciate a homemade gift over a store bought one this time of year, let alone anytime of the year, and that’s why I’m a huge supporter in encouraging people to do so.

So here’s wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas or a Happy *Insert Holiday Here*.

Take time to celebrate your loved ones, appreciate what you have, and stay warm and happy. :)

Leave a Reply

